Discernment at Crossroads and Life Transitions

wooden chair on hilltop at sunrise

Friday, September 28, 2018  -  Sunday, September 30, 2018

GilChrist Retreat Center 56265 Day Rd Three Rivers , MI

Are you at a crossroad or in the midst of a life transition? Are you facing the challenge of making decisions that are not clear cut but nuanced with a variety of factors? How does being more aware of how God is active, present, and inviting in our daily life help us to make these decisions with increasingly greater faithfulness to God’s desires and our own passions? You are invited to join a weekend retreat at the beautiful and serene grounds of GilChrist Retreat Center in Three Rivers, Michigan. In a silent retreat format, we will explore discernment in the context of understanding God’s desire and love for us. Exploring ways to choose life and engage our bodies with intention and attention will help us distinguish and choose more wisely among the options before us. This practice of discernment will shape our hearts and mold our characters to be more like Jesus. It will grow our faith, increase our intimacy with God and empower us to becoming fully alive. Sessions on Friday afternoon and evening are more interactive. We enter into silence on Friday evening and break silence on Sunday after our last session that morning. Except during our designated meeting times participants are asked to maintain silence throughout the retreat. Spiritual direction is also available during the retreat.

Lodging
Each attendee will stay in a personal cabin which offers air-conditioning and heat, a twin bed, sitting area and desk, modern bathroom, kitchen, and a porch or deck. Our gatherings will be held at WindHill, GilChrist's main gathering house.

Meals
Dinner Friday evening, brunch on Sunday, snacks, and beverages are provided. Please let the facilitator know if you have any dietary restrictions. Simple instructions will be sent two weeks before the retreat in regards to what to bring for your meals on Saturday. The preparation of and how we eat our meals are part of the retreat.

What to Bring
Pack comfortable clothing that allows for free movement, shoes for unpaved or gravel walking trails, paper and pen for personal notes, bug spray, and a small flashlight.Towels and linens are supplied. Please note that there is limited or no mobile phone and wifi service. For more information about the facility, please refer to the GilChrist FAQ.

Basic Schedule (EST Time Zone)
• Fri Sep 28, 3:00 PM EST (2:00 PM CST) Cabin check-in and introductions
• Fri Sep 28, 4:00 PM EST (3:00 PM CST) Session 1
• Fri Sep 28, 5:30 or 6:00 PM EST (4:30 or 5 PM CST) Dinner
• Sun Sep 30, 1:00 PM EST (Noon CST) Departure

About the Facilitator 
The Soul Tending Retreat series is hosted by Wai-Chin Matsuoka, a spiritual director who graduated from Christos Center for Spiritual Formation. She is a former coordinator of Christos’ Tending the Holy program, as well as an Immanuel prayer trainer and facilitator for contemplative retreats for small and mid-size groups.

Cost & Registration
The cost of $330 includes the program, two nights of overnight accommodation in a private cabin, two meals, snacks, and use of the main gathering house. A $130 deposit will hold your space with the balance due on arrival. The deposit is not refundable for cancelation after September 21, 2018. Please make checks payable to Wai-Chin Matsuoka and mail to 444 E. Roosevelt Rd, Ste 110, Lombard, IL 60148 by Sep 7, 2018. For more information, email Wai-Chin .